Stuben, situated in the center of the Arlberg,
is probably the smallest and most original village of all.

Stuben’s altitude of 1400 Metern guarantees snow from December to May. Stuben is a skiiers‘ paradise with enormous variety for everybody who appreciates sportive challenges,  cosiness, down-to-earthness and high quality lodging and restaurants.

The Albona (2400 m) is Stuben‘s local mountain in “Verwallgruppe” and is worldwide known as freeriding paradise. The reasons are that we have plenty of powder snow throughout the winter and more than 1000 meters in hight of north-facing slopes without trees!

The Albona is part of the Arlberger ski resort along with the 5 villages of Stuben, St. Anton, St. Christoph, Lech and Zürs. All the Arlberg-villages can be reached with the Albonabahn via lifts and slopes.

The Arlberg is Austria‘s largest skiresort and one of the largest in the world.

Expressed by numbers:

  • 88 ski lifts & cable cars
  • 305 km runs
  • 59 % techical snow-coverd slopes
  • 200 kilometers off piste runs
  • 714 snow making machines

Hannes Schneider

The first ski instructor of the Arlberg and

founder of the first Austrian ski school was born in Stuben.

Hannes Schneider (1890 – 1955) was born in Stuben am Arlberg and became the first ski instructor of the Arlberg area in 1907.

Hannes Schneider revolutionized alpine skiing with the „Arlberg-Schule“ and fouded the first Austrian ski school in 1920.

Later he acted in popular ski films like („Der weiße Rausch“; „Das Wunder des Schneeschuhs“; „Die weiße Kunst“). That time Hannes Schneider was almost invincilbe and was known as the „fastest skiier in Europe“ and had won almost every international ski race. Before Warld War Two he and his family emmigrated to the US where he founded his onw ski resort in North Conway.

A memorial in Stuben am Arlberg (a bronze sculpture by Udo Rabensteiner) reminds us of Hannes Schneider and acknowledges his impact on alpine skiing.

Stuben, am Fuße des Arlbergpasses gelegen,
ist der vielleicht ursprünglichste Ort am Arlberg.

Auf über 1400 Metern hoch gelegen, gilt das Bergdorf als „Schneeloch“ – was hier ausdrücklich als Kompliment aufzufassen ist. Stuben ist ein variantenreiches Schiparadies für alle, die sportliche Herausforderungen, Gemütlichkeit, Bodenständigkeit und qualitativ hochwertige Unterkünfte und Restaurants schätzen.

Die Albona (2400 m) ist der Stubener Hausberg in der Verwallgruppe. Die Albona ist weltweit als Freeride-Paradies bekannt – und dies hat auch seine Gründe: Nicht nur, dass hier besonders viel Pulverschnee fällt. Die Albona bietet auch 1000 Höhenmeter an baumfreien Nordhängen!

Die Albona ist Teil des Arlberger Schigebiets. Zum Arlberg gehören neben Stuben die Orte St. Anton, St. Christoph, Lech und Zürs. Alle Arlberg-Orte sind von Stuben aus mit der Albonabahn per Lift erreichbar.

Der Arlberg ist das größte zusammenhängende Schigebiet Österreichs und eines der größten der Welt. In Zahlen ausgedrückt:

  • 88 Anlagen Seilbahnen und Lifte
  • 305 km Schiabfahrten
  • 59 % beschneite Pisten
  • 200 Kilometer Tiefschneeabfahrten
  • 714 Schneeerzeugungskanonen

Hannes Schneider

Der erste Schilehrer am Arlberg und

Gründer der ersten Schischule Österreichs kam aus Stuben.

Hannes Schneider (1890 – 1955) wurde in Stuben am Arlberg geboren. 1907 wurde er der erste Schilehrer am Arlberg.

Hannes Schneider revolutionierte mit der „Arlberg-Schule“ das alpine Schifahren. 1920 gründete er die erste Schischule Österreichs.

Später spielte er in Spielfilmen mit („Der weiße Rausch“; „Das Wunder des Schneeschuhs“; „Die weiße Kunst“). Zu jener Zeit war Hannes Schneider schier unschlagbar, galt als der „schnellste Schifahrer Europas“ und hatte nahezu alle internationalen Schirennen gewonnen. Vor dem Zweiten Weltkrieg wanderte Hannes Schneider mit seiner Familie in die USA aus und gründete in North Conway ein eigenes Schigebiet.

Ein Denkmal in Stuben am Arlberg (eine Bronzeskulptur des Künstlers Udo Rabensteiner) erinnert an Hannes Schneider und würdigt seine Bedeutung für den alpinen Schisport.